RELEASED JANUARY 29th, 2016 via Kobalt Label Services


Having sold 25 million albums worldwide, icon of R&B Brian McKnight will release his 16th album Better on January 29th 2016.

McKnight, who has 16 Grammy Award nominations under his belt, is sticking to his R&B roots on his new record. ‘I’m taking it back to basics’ he explains. ‘Creating music like we did 20 years ago – completely organic, all real instruments. The truth is, I’m in love and love makes us better, it makes us come alive, and I wanted to convey that through this album in a very relatable, authentic way.’ This feeling can certainly be heard on new single ‘Uh Oh Feeling’


The singer-songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist has been no stranger to collaboration in his 20 years in the music industry, having worked with everyone from Christina Aguilera to Quincy Jones to Justin Timberlake as well as a unique performance with Drake at last year’s ESPY Awards.

Better continues this trend, as McKnight worked with Hawaiian vocalist Kimié Miner and rapper Glasses Moses. The album also includes Brian’s long time guitarists Chris Loftlin and Tyrone Chase, who he has worked with for over 10 years.

26 years after he signed his first record deal, being honoured with Soul Train Awards, American Music Awards and Billboard Songwriter of The Year along the way; McKnight releases his 16th album Better and is happy to be doing what he loves most – and still growing as an artist. ‘I never thought in my wildest dreams I would have this kind of career, and I’m so grateful to have my fans behind me, still supporting me, and to still live this dream every day. And because of that, I am better.’



1. Strut

2. Just Enough

3. Can’t Take It

4. Better

5. Uh Oh Feeling

6. Like I Do

7. Lovin You From A Distance

8. Goodbye

9. Get You In My Life

10. Enough

11. Key 2 My Heart

12. Just Waiting


PR Contact


Lewis Fromberg – Deacon Communications


020 3176 6645



Critically Acclaimed Singer-Songwriter

James McCartney Announces New Album

The Blackberry Train


Album release worldwide May 6th on Maybenot via Kobalt Label Services

New track “Too Hard” available now – listen to it here


Singer-songwriter James McCartney’s signature aesthetic of melding smart hooks and feral alt-rock with the grandeur and spiritual centeredness of psychedelic music has won him press plaudits and a strong fan-base.  He’s garnered critical acclaim from Rolling Stone, The New York Times, and The Daily News. He’s built a robust international profile through tirelessly touring the UK, Europe and the US, most recently including a sold out three show residency at The Islington in London, where he debuted his new material.


Now, he issues the sharpest entry of his vision, The Blackberry Train engineered by Steve Albini (Nirvana, The Pixies and PJ Harvey), to be released worldwide May 6th on Maybenot via Kobalt Label Services.  Fans can pre order the album on JamesMcCartney.com. Opening track “Too Hard” is available as an instant download on iTunes and on Spotify now with pre-order.


On the track, which can be described as a jangling rocker, James says: “ I wrote it in L.A, and tried to infuse it with a country feel to really bring out that desperation, and the idea of trying too hard. Dhani Harrison came into the studio and we both collaborated on the guitar solo in the song.”


The Blackberry Train manages to be both diverse and cohesive. Opening with the invigorating “Too Hard” and closing with the stately and aptly named folk song, “Peace and Stillness.” Between these bookends, highlights include the rough-edged and urgently melodic “Unicorn,” the anthemic “Peyote Coyote,” and the soulful ballad “Prayer.” One very personal song is the winsome and reflective “Waterfall” which was inspired by memories of his mother.


“It’s all been an evolution,” James says. “This set of songs definitely has a harder edge, but it’s a continuation of the last album. The main thing for me is to not conform or compromise.”


To accurately capture the music in his head, James sought out the distinct audio stylings of Steve Albini. The results make for an edgy and eclectic album with fastidiously crafted songs documented in the studio with glorious purity.


“I like the music to have elements of the avant-garde, psychedelic, and be just a little against the grain,” James reveals. “But in the end, it's about having as much emotion as possible for me, musically and lyrically. It’s all about the music being cathartic, heartfelt and true.”.


The Blackberry Train Track Listing:


Too Hard





Peyote Coyote



Ring a Ring O'Roses


Peace and Stillness


Dan Deacon / Lewis Fromberg at Deacon Communications

020 3176 6606